Finalists Dublin Open 2016Dublin Open 2  2016

Cathy Dunne kept up her winning streak, taking the RILSA Ladies Dublin Open at Joey’s recently.  A fantastic run for Cathy this season and is now 5th on the rankings. Cathy had 2 nil wins over Englentina Doda in the last 16 and two black ball frames against the current number 2, Sandra Bryan in the quarters and number 3 Margaret Browne in the semis with breaks of 21, 32 along the way, to secure her place in the final

In the final Cathy had a good 2 nil win over the ever improving Laura Alves, this was Laura’s first RILSA ranking final, she had two close encounters getting to the final with a 2-1 win on black ball over Christine Carr in the quarters and a great 2-1 win over the current champion, Annette Newman in a close match, Annette took the first frame comfortably and Laura took the second on a re spot black to keep her in the match, the 3rd frame was a scrappy affair and it went to a pink ball which Laura potted to make her first final.

Congratulations to Cathy on her win and to Laura on a fine performance.

Laura & CathyMags & Annette 2

The Intermediate event was won by Englentina Doda and she beat newcomer Louise Murray 2-0 in the final.  Congrats to Englentina on her win and to Louise on her fine performance at her first event.

Englentina & Louise 2

We would like to welcome our newcomers Louise Murray and Mary Doran and thank them for their support and participation.

Congratulations to Sandra Bryan & Emirjeta Doda who received the Griffith Pin Award

Congratulations to our top 8 ranked players, who will be seeded in the National Championship in May, a fantastic achievement for these players as the National ranking list now stands at 144 players, what a result within two seasons for RILSA.   Ranking list will be published soon

  1. Annette Newman
  2. Sandra Bryan
  3. Margaret Browne
  4. Christine Carr
  5. Cathy Dunne
  6. Emirjeta Doda
  7. Tina Keogh
  8. Valerie Maloney

A big thank you to all our players for taking part and thanks to Derek Fagan and staff of Joey’s for providing excellent facilities to our events.


Annette Newman (Carlow)        2       Emirjeta Doda (Dublin)    0

Laura Alves (Dublin)                   2      Christine Carr (Kildare)     1

Margaret Browne (Meath)         2      Valerie Maloney (Laois)     0

Cathy Dunne (Dublin)                2      Sandra Bryan (Wexford)    0


Laura Alves                                  2      Annette Newman                  1

Cathy Dunne                                2     Margaret Browne                  0


Cathy Dunne                               2     Laura Alves                             0




Englentina Doda (Dublin)      2      Mary Doran (Carlow)           0

Louise Murray (Dublin)          2      Emma Carr (Kildare)            0


Englintina Doda                       2      Louise Murray                       0