The RILSA Ladies Leinster Masters Ranking event 3 of the 2017-2018 Tour season was claimed by the current Irish number 1, Annette Newman from Carlow in another great encounter against Sandra Bryan from Wexford the Irish number 2.

Annette had a good 2-0 win over Tina Keogh (Laois) in the Quarters and a close match against Margaret Browne from (Meath) 2-1 in the semis to reach the final while Sandra had a similar route to the final with a 2-1 battle against Michelle O’Boyle (Kildare) in the Quarters and a 2-0 win over Katie French (Kildare) in her first RILSA semi final to meet Annette in the final

The final started well for Sandra as she took the first frame however Annette responded well to win the second comfortably to level the match.  Like many occasions before between these two top players, it was to go all way to a pink ball decider in the 3rd in which Annette potted for frame and match.

Congratulations to Annette on her great win and to Sandra on her fine performance.  With two rankings remaining in the tour, its going to be a close call as usual to see where they stand on the final rankings as Annette is trying to hold her number 1 spot for the 3rd season in a row and Sandra looking to take number 1 for the second time since 2014.

A few other players will be jousting for top spots also with the season closing in March 2018 as Cathy Dunne and Paula Judge are close on their heels.

Grace Byrne from Carlow has made a big impact on the National Tour rankings as she is now poised in 3rd spot provisionally along with young Katie French and Michelle O’Boyle, Christine Carr all yet in the mix, however good results are needed for these players to take top spots.

Margaret Browne moves up to 12th place with Tina Keogh in 10th keeping within the top 16 for the Maureen Butler Cup and Championship Qualifier in 2018.  Valerie Maloney returns to the top 16 also from 18th to 14th to give her a good chance in staying in the top 16 by seasons end

Congrats to Cathy Dunne, Grace Byrne and Roisin Beale on receiving the Griffith Pin Award for their participation in over 15 events with RILSA over the past 3 years, well deserved.

Thanks to all the players for their support and participation and to Bernie & Paul of Sharkx Newbridge for providing excellent facilities as usual.


Sandra Brtyan (Wexford)             2      Michelle O’Boyle (Kildare)       1

Katie French (Kildare)                  2      Valerie Maloney (Offaly)          1

Annette Newman (Carlow)          2      Tina Keogh (Laois)                  0

Margaret Browne (Meath)           2      Roisin Beale (Kildare)              0


Sandra Bryan                              2      Katie French                            0

Annette Newman                       2      Margaret Browne                    1


Annette Newman                      2      Sandra Bryan                           1



Ranking Name Club/School Tot Tot
1st Annette Newman Griffith Club, Carlow 6200 25
2nd Sandra Bryan Breakers Gorey, Wexford 6000 25
3rd Grace Byrne Ballinabranna, Carlow 4400 9
4th Cathy Dunne Celbridge, Kildare 4200 21
5th Katie French Celbridge S.C./KILDARE 4200 4
6th Christine Carr Sharkx Newbridge, Kildare 4100 7
 7th Clodagh walsh Ballinabranna, Carlow 3800 3
8th Michelle O’Boyle Celbridge S.C./KILDARE 3500 8
9th Paula Judge Celbridge S.C. Kildare 3300 17
10th Tina Keogh Portarlington S.C., Laois 3300 3
11th Emirjeta Doda CBS Westland Row, Dublin 3200 8
12th Margaret Browne Royal S.C. Navan, Meath 2900 12
13th Rachel Bradley St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 2900 4
14th Valerie Maloney Portarlington S.C., Laois 2700 5
15th Kerri Mulleney Ballinabranna, Carlow 2400 1
16th Rosie Young Portarlington S.C. Laois 2200 1
17th Tara Byrne Griffith Club/CARLOW 2200 0
18th Roisin Beale Sharkx Newbridge, Kildare 2000 3
19th Shannon Wilson St Laserians, Carlow 1800 4
20th Susan Hanlon Joey’s S.C. Dublin 1700 2
21st Jodie Moore St Laserians, Carlow 1600 3
22nd Grace Brennan St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 1600 3
23rd Lauren Carley Griffith Club, Carlow 1600 0
24th Katelyn O’Reilly St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 1400 2
25th Joanna Lee St Laserians, Carlow 1400 2
26th Zoe Smith St Laserians, Carlow 1400 2
27th Natasha Walker St Laserians, Carlow 1400 2
28th Lucinda Monahan St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 1200 1
29th Edel Hannon St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 1200 1
30th  Orla Byrne St Laserians, Carlow 1200 1
31st Teresa Fortune St Laserians, Carlow 1200 1
32nd Mikaela Quirke Newbridge Educate Together 1200 0