The 4th National Stars Academy Special Needs Championship took place at Sharkx Newbridge recently with a great turnout.

Connor Flynn from St Marks Newbridge took the title in style with a good win over Tristan Hurley from St Laserians in Carlow.

On his way to the final Connor had wins over, Ian Carroll last 32, Ross Dunne last 16, Richard O’Sullivan in the Quarters and Ryan Doyle in the semis, while Tristan like Connor was in fine form with wins over Adam Prendergast, last 32, Cormac Hickey last 16, David Taylor in the Quarters and John Carroll in the Semis.

Tristan got off to a good start in the final however Connor got stuck in and produced some great snooker to win the match and take the title back to St Marks in Newbridge.

Congratulations to Connor on his win and to Tristan on a great performance.  Well done to all the players who took part and really enjoyed the Tournament.  Thanks to Liz, Angela, Pauline and Rob from the Schools who helped out throughout the day and a special thanks to Annette for all her help and refereeing the final.

Thanks to Paul & Bernie of Sharkx for their kind hospitality and support as always.



Anthony Nugent                   1      Ben Peteria              0

David Taylor                          1      Mikey Comerford     0

Cormac Hickey                      1      Andres Callaux         0

Tristan Hurley                        1      Adam Prendergast   0

Miguel Dimingo                    1      Mike Cunningham   0

John Carroll                           1      Jordan Donohue      0

Jordan Duffy                          Bye

Killian McCartin                     1      Troy Lawlor               0

Connor Flynn                         1      Ian Carroll                0

Ross Dunne                            1      Shane Lawlor           0

Aaron Shorten                        1      Connor O’Donnell   0

Richard O’Sullivan                  Bye

Matthew Kennedy                  Bye

Ben Timmons                         Bye

Declan Baker                          1      Padraig Curran         0

Ryan Doyle                             Bye



David Taylor                          1      Anthony Nugent         0

Tristan Hurley                        1      Cormac Hockey          0

John Carroll                           1      Miguel Dimingo         0

Jordan Duffy                          1      Killian McCartin          0

Connor Flynn                         1      Ross Dunne                0

Richard O’Sullivan                  1      Aaron Shorten           0

Ben Timmons                         1      Matthew Kennedy     0

Ryan Doyle                             1      Padraig Curran          0


Tristan Hurley                        1      David Taylor               0

John Carroll                           1      Jordan Duffy              0

Connor Flynn                         1      Richard O’Sullivan     0

Ryan Doyle                            1      Ben Timmons             0


Tristan Hurley                        1      John Carroll                0

Connor Flynn                         1      Ryan Doyle                0


Connor Flynn                         1      Tristan Hurley