The Griffith A Team made up of Dave Seales, Darragh Hackett & Annette Newman secured the Dublin Snooker Federation Cup in a very close event at Joey’s recently

In their quarter final match against Joey’s B, the Griffith team had to play well to get through.  Joey’s B had a 2 frame advantage and after the first set of matches between Dave Seales & Sean Reynolds, we saw Joey’s B in the lead 5-4 however Darragh Hackett was in fine form against Phil Kennedy and reeled off 3 frames in a row to see the Griffith A team through to the semis with a 7-5 win

Griffith B Team made up of Gary Seales and Killian Rock were up against the Clontarf Team of Aidan & Niall Pollitt with Clontarf on a 3 frame start and Griffith B on 4, it was going to be close.  Gary Seals was first up against Aidan Pollitt and Aidan had to win at least 1 frame to keep them in contention, however Gary won the first and Aidan had a number of chances in the second to take black to level but Gary took it to go ahead 6-3 only needing the 3rd frame for Griffith B to get into the final and this he did with some great play in the 3rd frame to win through 7-3

Griffith A had to play well against the current Cup holders Sportslink made up of Joe Lyons and Oisin Mac Fhearai.  After the first match between Dave Seals and Oisin Mac Fhearai it was 5-3 to the Griffith A Team, Annette Newman levelled her match with Joe Lyons to go 6-4 ahead, so it was down to the next set of matches, however Dave saw off Oisin in a great frame to win 7-4 and a place in the final against the Griffith B team.

Griffith A on 2 frame start and Griffith B on a 4 frame start in this first to 7 match was going to be close indeed.  Gary went up a gear against Dave to win 2-1 to put Griffith B into the lead at 5-3 however Annette won her match 3 nil to put Griffith A into a 6-5 lead, so it was back to Dave & Gary, with the frame going all the way to a black ball and both players had a number of chances, however Dave potted a difficult black with the rest for frame and match to take the Cup title for 2018.

Congratulations to the Griffith A team of Dave Seales, Darragh Hackett and Annette Newman on winning the Cup and to the Griffith B team of Gary Seales and Killian Rock on a fine performance.

Thanks to Derek Fagan and staff of Joey’s Dublin for facilitating the leagues and cup events along with providing excellent playing facilities throughout the season and a special thanks to all the teams and players for their participation.  We look forward to next September when the 18th season of Dublin Snooker Federation Leagues gets underway.