Keara Minion from Ballinabranna National School in Carlow wins the RILSA National Primary School Snooker Championship at the Ivy Rooms Carlow recently beating Nadine Kelly from Hacketstown in the final.  This is the second win for Ballinabranna National School and the County in the past 3 years with Orla Fitzpatrick taking the inaugural Championship title in 2014.

On her way to the final Keara had wins over Alexandra Burke from Naas Community School in the quarters and Ailbhe McGuire from Hacketstown in the semis.  In the other half of the draw Nadine Kelly from Hacketstown had wins over Holly O’Neill from Newbridge Educate Together and stable mate Amy Byrne from Hacketstown in the semis to meet Keara in the final.

The final saw some good snooker from both girls however Keara was the stronger on the day and took the frame needed with only 7 points in it to give her the title of RILSA National Primary School Snooker Champion 2016.

Congratulations to Keara on her win and to Nadine for her fine performance.  Thanks to all the girls for taking part and enjoying the days competition.  A big thank you to all the principals, teachers, parents and mentors for their very much appreciated help and support towards out initiatives at RILSA

Thanks to Annette for helping out and refereeing the final and presenting the prizes.  Thanks to Marian, Sharon and staff of the Ivy Rooms for providing excellent facilities.