The Republic of Ireland Ladies Snooker Association have been sponsored with a new Championship Cup supplied by Dublin Trophies and sponsored by Dan Carroll & Annette Newman.

Both Dan & Annette have been involved with women’s cue sports since the 1980’s with Annette having reached the first RILSA Championship in 1986 but was playing snooker since 1982.  Dan got involved helping promote the ladies game of snooker in 1988, so just over 30 years of dedication and support towards women’s cue sports.

This new Cup is part of a new era for women’s cue sports as promotions along with participation is increasing among our schools and academies around Ireland.

A special thanks to Alison McDonnell and Maria of Dublin Trophies for supplying a fantastic piece in this Cup with all the names of our Champions since 1978 and the RILSA crest engraved also.  This is part of our 40th year celebrations since our first ever National Ladies Snooker Championship in which Maureen Butler took the inaugural title in 1978, since then many names adorn the previous cups that are now proudly displayed on this new cup.

Annette always wished she could some day win the RILSA National Championship title and after many years reaching the quarters and semis. In 2014 reached the final again to be denied the title by Sandra Bryan however her dream came true when she took the title from Sandra in 2015, a win so deserved of a player so dedicated to the sport.

Julie Kelly was our most successful player having won the title a total of 7 times both Margaret O’Driscoll and Ann McMahon came close having won the title on 5 occasions.

Other multiple winners are Maureen Butler who won it on 2 occasions and Mary Raymond who won it on 3 occasions.

Danielle Randle from Kilkenny was our youngest ever winner of the National title when she won it against Annette in a great final going down to the last frame on a black ball finish in 2016.  Paula Judge took her first National title in 2017, will she be the next player to win this fantastic prize on more than one occasion as we get ready for the 2018 National Championship at Sharkx Newbridge on Saturday 12th & Sunday 13th May

86 players will have played to qualify to the last 32 stage of this years Championship.  A fantastic number of women & girls who through our promotions are now making up the numbers who play the sport competitively here in Ireland.  A new record for the 2018 Championship again breaking the numbers in the men’s game for the second year in a row.

RILSA National Snooker Champions

Maureen Butler 1978, 1982 Dublin
Mary Raymond 1979, 1980, 1981 Dublin
Lorna Connolly 1983 Dublin
Bernie O’Sullivan 1984 Dublin
Selene Burke 1985 Dublin
Martina Wendell 1986 Dublin
Margaret O’Driscoll 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 2002 Limerick
Julie Kelly 1991, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998 Wexford
Ann McMahon 1994, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003 Dublin
Cathy Dunne 2004 Dublin
2005-2013 NO CONTESTS
Sandra Bryan 2014 Wexford
Annette Newman 2015 Carlow
Danielle Randle 2016 Kilkenny
Paula Judge 2017 Dublin
 ? 2018