The Republic of Ireland Ladies Snooker Association held their 3rd National Ranking Event, The Ladies Leinster Masters at the Celbridge Snooker Club Co Kildare recently.  Paula Judge representing the Celbridge Club won the event with a good 2 nil win over Louise Jordan from Meath in the final.

The event was a great success for RILSA once again and all the players really enjoyed the tournament.

In the last 16 Tina Keogh from Offaly was in fine form against Christine Carr from Kildare to come through with a 2-1 win after a short spell away from the RILSA Tour that helps her remain within the top 8 so far this season.  Also back from a spell away was Stephanie Morrison from The Griffith Club Carlow who played well against Louise Jordan but Louise had the upper hand on the day to win through with a 2-0 win.

Joanna Ward from Kildare was in good form against Margaret Browne from Meath levelling the match at 1-1 and going down to a black ball finish in the 3rd frame with Joanna potting it to go through to the quarters.

In the quarters current number 1 and National Champion, Annette Newman from Carlow had to play well to see off a strong effort from Tina Keogh to win 2-0 for a semi final place.  Louise Jordan was put to a close finish against Jennifer Earle from Dublin to make it through to meet Annette in the semis with a 2-0 win.

Cathy Dunne also representing Celbridge and from Dublin took the game to Joanna Ward with a number of small breaks saw her with a 2-0 win and a place in the semis against Joanna. the final quarter final match with Paula Judge and Michelle French was to go level at 1-1 with Michelle stepping up her game but Paula responded with a good 38 break in frame 3 to put her through to meet Cathy and complete the semi final line up.

Annette was in good form taking frame 1 comfortably against Louise however Louise responded well to level the match 1-1 frame 3 was to go all the way to a black ball which Louise potted to take the win and a place in the final.

Paula and Cathy’s match was a copy of their previous meeting with Paula taking frame 1 on the pink ball and taking the second on a black ball finish to win through to meet Louise in the final again very little between these players.

In the final Louise had her chances to take the first frame but Paula potted well to go 1 up in this best of 3.  Frame 2 was close for a while but Paula pushed through with a number of small breaks to take the frame and title of RILSA Ladies Leinster Masters Champion 2019.

Congratulations to Paula on her win and to Louise on a fine performance.  Thanks to all the players for their support in making the event such a great success.  A special thanks to all the players who presented Dan Carroll with the RILSA Manager award for 2019, it is very much appreciated and the presentation will certainly take pride of place.

Thanks to Phil Martin and staff, James, Joanne and Alan for all their help and support towards female cue sports and RILSA.  We will be back in 2020.  Thanks to Dave Earle on helping out refereeing during the day and to Annette refereeing the final.

The National Rankings saw no change from the top 4 as Annette, Cathy, Michelle and Jennifer all remain 1-4 respectively after this event.  Christine Carr remains in 5th spot while Paula’s win puts her firmly into 6th place followed by Tina and Margaret completing the top 8 as we make it half way through the tour season.

Other players making great progress on the rankings are Louise Jordan now up to 10th place and Joanna Ward making the top 16 for the first time at 15th spot.  Stephanie Morrison is 40th after the event and is on course to make a top 16 place if she continues to make the remainder of the season which will be another first for her.


Rank Name Club/School Tot Tot
1st Annette Newman Griffith Club, Carlow 7200 23
2nd Cathy Dunne Celbridge, Kildare 5900 16
3rd Michelle French CYMS Newbridge/KILDARE 5200 7
4th Jennifer Earle  Dublin 5000 2
5th Christine Carr Sharkx Newbridge, Kildare 4600 4
6th Paula Judge Celbridge S.C. Kildare 4000 14
 7th Tina Keogh Rilsa Academy , Offaly 4000 9
8th Margaret Browne Royal S.C. Navan, Meath 4000 3
9th Emirjeta Doda  Dublin 3800 6
10th Louise Jordan Navan S.C./Meath 3200 8
11th Sileena Ennis St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 3000 4
12th Celine Chelariu St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 3000 1
13th Aoife Williams St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 3000 1
14th Niamh Barrett St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 3000 1
15th Joanna Ward Celbridge S.C., Kildare 2900 3
16th Katie French CYMS Newbridge/KILDARE 2600 3
17th Valerie Maloney Rilsa Academy, Offaly 2600 0
18th Alex Murane St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 2500 1
19th Aoimheann Kearney St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 2500 1
20th Fiona Carr St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 2500 2
21st Naoimi Moore St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 2500 1
22nd Ailish Murphy St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 2500 0
23rd Abbie Thompson St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 2500 0
24th Kerry Doran St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 2500 0
25th Emma Daly St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 2500 0
26th Kirsty Curtis St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 2500 0
27th Jessica Beatty St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 2500 1
28th Roisin Beale Sharkx Newbridge, Kildare 2400 2
29th Chloe Hutton St Laserians, Carlow 2000 4
30th Megan Randle Kilkenny 2000 4
31st  Caroline O’Connor St Laserians, Carlow 2000 2
32nd Orla Duffy St Marks Newbridge, Kildare 2000 1