The inaugural Leinster Snooker Federation Cup Competition was held over a number of Tuesday evenings at Sharkx Newbridge where the Sharkx “B” Team made up of Christine Carr & Peter McDermott took the title after a great tournament that saw some very close encounters along the way

Sharkx “B” had a close call going all the way to the final frame when Peter McDermott took it against Tina Keogh of the Portarlington Team of Tina & Robbie Keogh to go through to the semis 7-6

Sharkx “A” Team made up of Leon Costello & Declan Tuohy had a good result over the League Champions of Annette Newman & Dan Carroll to win their quarter final match 7-5

The Ballymany Team of the Alan & Alan (Sen) Beale got a bye to the semis while Morristown made up of John Dempsey & Richard Cullen had a good win over Cloneygowan of Val & Tom Maloney with a 7-3 win to complete the semi final line up

Sharkx “B” were again held down to a final frame shoot out against Morristown when Peter once again came to the rescue to take the frame needed to see them through to their first Cup final 7-6

Ballymany had their chances against Sharkx “A” but Declan won the frame to see them through to the final with Sharkx “B” with a 7-5 win

Both Sharkx teams were set for the final as with Sharkx “A” on a 4 frame start and Sharkx “B” on 3 frames and the first to 7, this was going to be a tense match, Peter won two frames to 1 against Leon to level the match 5-5, however Christine was in fine form against Declan and won 2 nil to give them the cup title 2018, 7-5 the final result.

Congratulations to Sharkx “B” on their win and to Sharkx”A” on their great performance throughout the Cup event.

Thanks to all the teams for their participation and making the Cup a great success.  Thanks to Paul & Bernie of Sharkx Snooker Club for their help and support towards our League season in providing excellent facilities.