The Republic of Ireland Ladies Snooker Association introduced the sport of Billiards into their Association for the first time back in December 2015.  During the previous 11 months a number of women were coached by our National Billiards Coach, Aidan Murray, who got these women trained to a standard for competition.  This time was well spent as the players really got behind this new initiative and the interest grew with RILSA now having had 17 women who attended and played competitive billiards over the four years.

Annette Newman from Carlow has dominated the sport to date by winning the inaugural Championship in 2015 and retaining it again in 2016 along with winning all 5 National Billiards titles in between.  Annette has recently completed her fourth successful season, winning 6 out of 6 National Billiards Ranking titles for 2019.  However Valerie Maloney from Laois along with Christine Carr (Kildare) and Jennifer Earle from Dublin have improved greatly in the sport and are hot on the heels of Annette.

Annette took the 2019 National title making it 5 in a row and setting a new record.  She will be looking to continue her form in 2020.

Annette is the only woman in Ireland to have held both the Snooker and Billiards National titles in the same season along with holding the number 1 ranked spots in both disciplines.  Great history in the making for women’s cue sports here in Ireland.  To add to her success, Annette won the Inaugural 100Up National Championship Title in December 2019.

The Intermediate National Billiards commenced in 2018 with Christine Carr taking the inaugural title.  Valerie Maloney finished the Intermediate Billiards season number 1 and won the National Intermediate Billiards Championship title in 2019.




Rk Name Club/School Tot Tot
1st Annette Newman  Griffith Club, Carlow 11500 1855
2nd  Christine Carr  Sharkx, Newbridge 9000 1296
3rd  Valerie Maloney RILSA Academy Offaly 7200 982
4th Roisin Beale Sharkx, Newbridge 7200 770
5th  Tina Keogh RILSA Academy Offaly 4800 726
6th Stephanie Morrison Griffith Club, Carlow 3000 296
7th Jennifer Earle Dublin 1800 111
8th Lauren Carley Griffith Club, Carlow 1000 0