Raivis Briska is the 2024 National Special Stars Academy Boys Champion after a great days play at the RILSA Academy Sharkx Newbridge recently.  This event was played in a 1 frame competition with 18 entries

In the prelim round Adam Doody won against Caylan Humphries and beat Brad Cullen in their matches to complete the last 16 round

Conor Brady took the frame needed against Adam Doody in their last 16 match, Cathal Kennedy won against Tom Connors, Kierin Murphy won against Jack Donohoe and Raivis Briska took the frame against Evan Scott to advance to the quarters.

In the other half of the draw, Aaron Murphy won his match against Conor Breen, Danny Murphy won against Conor Jones and Brian Lynch took the frame against Adam Brady to go through to the quarters and Jack Doyle completed the quarter final line up with his win over Mason O’Mahoney

The Quarters saw Cathal Kennedy advance to the semis with a win over Conor Brady, Raivis Briska kept up the good form against Kierin Murphy to take the win, Aaron Murphy won against Danny Murphy and Jack Doyle took the win against Brian Lynch to complete the semi final line up

Raivis Briska took the win against Cathal Kennedy to make it through to the final and Aaron Murphy won against Jack Doyle to meet Raivis in the final

In the final it was nip and tuck for the first 20 minutes but Raivis began to score well and took the frame and win on the colours to take the title for 2024

Congratulations to Raivis on his win and well done to Aaron on a fine performance.  Well done to all the lads who participated and made the days event a great success.  Thanks to Aidan Murray for refereeing the final and helping throughout the day and also thanks to Annette for all her help throughout the event and for marking the final.

A big thanks to all the teachers and staff of St Marks, who helped during the event and to Rob Thompson for all his support. Thanks to Bernie, Paul and staff of Sharkx for all their support