The 2022 Maureen Butler Cup was won by Annette Newman from Carlow at the RILSA Academy Sharkx Newbridge recently, defeating Sandra Bryan in the final 2 frames to nil.

The top 8 players from the seasons rankings qualify for this event and the competition on the day didn’t disappoint as Annette was in fine form against the up and coming youngster from Dublin, Jennifer Earle in the semi final stage where she saw off Jennifer 2 frames to nil in a good display of snooker.  In the other Semi final Sandra Bryan from Wexford had to play well to see off a challenge from Christine Carr from Kildare and did well to win the match 2 nil to meet Annette in the final.

In the final Annette won the first frame on the colours with Sandra needing snooker on the brown and again it was a similar frame where Sandra required snookers with Annette potting a difficult pink to seal the win and title of Maureen Butler Cup Champion for the second time.

Annette was delighted with the win over Sandra who is a very strong player on tour and they had many close battles over the years.  Annette said ” that it was great to get her name on the cup for the second time as she knew Maureen very well and a good friend over the years”  Annette had the pleasure of playing Maureen many times in the past and that she was proud to have her name on the cup and that Maureen would certainly have approved.

The Maureen Butler Cup was first played for in 1969 when Brid Maxwell now Brid Brennan won the inaugural event followed by retaining it in 1970.  Audrey Mooney would win the cup in 1971 with Brid taking it back in 1972 and 1973.  Brid is the only player to have won it on 4 occasions.

In 1974 Maureen would win the cup herself and again in 1976.  The cup was dedicated to Maureen at the time for her work and as a player on the ladies circuit in Ireland.  The title was not held in 1975, reason unknown.

During the years 1977 to 1999 the cup was not played for as it went out of circulation as to where or who had the cup but in 2000 it would reappear and would be played for once more with Ann McMahon winning it on that occasion.  Ann was the holder of the cup and it was not played for until Ann returned the cup to RILSA in 2015 and in 2016 we introduced this prestigious cup to the RILSA Calendar where it will remain.

Front – L-R Brid Brennan (nee Maxwell) Maureen Butler & Annette Newman

2016 would see Cathy Dunne win the title against Laura Alves and the next two years 2017 & 2018 Paula Judge would get her name on the cup.  The 2019 season saw Annette Newman dominate the tour winning all National titles in the 6 Red, 10 Red and National Amateur Championship, while Annette was delighted to win these her wish was to win the Maureen Butler Cup and this she did in style against Louise Jordan.  Louise came back in 2020 to take the title and retained it in 2021 putting her amongst the top players in Ireland having won this cup on two occasions followed by Annette again joining these players in over 50 years of history.

Maureen herself would be very happy to see this cup been played for and that it will be on the calendar every season.

Congratulations to Annette on her win and to Sandra on a fine performance.  Well done to all the girls for their participation and support.  Thanks to Dave Earle for refereeing the final and to Bernie, Paul and staff of Sharkx for all their help and support.